lobiegg.blogg.se

Gamemaker studio 2 import sprite sheet
Gamemaker studio 2 import sprite sheet






gamemaker studio 2 import sprite sheet gamemaker studio 2 import sprite sheet

Otherwise there isn't much point.ģ.) Not sure about that one. But it's my understanding that it's good to combine sheets if you know for example that those 2 monsters are going to be displayed together on screen a lot. So that route can be better depending on how much of it you're able to tile.Īlso, try to keep textures in power of 2 resolutions if you can, not multiples of 2.Ģ.) I believe this is situational? Perhaps one of the more knowledgeable people here can chime in. Unity can dynamically batch tiles that are the same so the same ones only use 1 draw call. It would also reduce texture loads.Īs for tiles, it depends on just how much of it you can tile. It's going to only result in a single draw call for it that way, versus two draw calls if you had them split-up and two parts were being displayed during the transition between them. hahaġ.) Considering it's only a single 2048 texture, it wouldn't be too big of an issue to just keep it loaded. Heeeey, I think I might know you from Kotaku. I know how annoying that can be, lolĪny helpful information would be really appreciated here everyone. but I figured this way it would be easier for people to understand what I am asking, and for me to get what I need without spamming up the place with several N00b questions. Sorry to ask so many questions and be so long winded. Is there an equivalent feature in Unity to do stuff like this? I saw that many effects I used a surface for are already built into Unity, but what about drawing only part of a sprite for example or making reflective water?Ĥ)Seeing as my resolution for the game is 256 * 224, how can I scale up my game to fill the screen, while keeping this resolution? I tried changing the scale values of the camera in Unity but this did NOTHING!ĥ)seeing as how there are 27 stages in the game, would I be better off resource wise and performance wise making a separate scene for each one, or should I just make one VERY long scene for the whole game or for every several stages? I can also use this to do things like drawing only part of a sprite.

gamemaker studio 2 import sprite sheet

For example, I can make a copy of the player onto it, then warp it, change its color, add a moving gradient, and draw this over the player to make a neat looking overlay. For these would I be better off keeping the backgrounds one long whole image as is, or should I "cut" them up into smaller images (for example, making four 512 * 112 images) or even use tiles instead? I was thinking I could just take one object and use it to draw several sprites at once to save space, is there a way to do this in Unity?Ģ)In the case of sprites, is there any harm in having a separate sprite sheet for each unique enemy, or should I try to combine them all into a few HUGE sheets instead? In GM my experience was that using many 512 * 512 texture pages was WAY faster than using a few 2048*2048 ones, is that true in Unity too?ģ)In GM: studio we have something called surfaces they are basically blank views which you can use to create all kinds of gfx effects. I wanted to make sure that I got started the right way in Unity, am trying to figure out the best way to optimize this game, and had the following questions:ġ)When it comes to backgrounds, most of them will be about 2048 * 112 (back layer, uses parallax scrolling) or 2560 * 192 (front layer of backgrounds). I chose to use the old Arcade game Rygar for this, and make a minor remake to it. I figured I would do a more basic platformer which would give me a chance to learn Unity. The base size of the screen is 256 * 224.īefore trying to convert my project. For those who don't know, THIS IS A 2D PLATFORMER, that is almost all sprites with a handful of 3d objects (most of which are just flat primitives). A blog with tons of updates and progress can be found here:. The project I am working on is a remake of Castlevania: Symphony of the night.

gamemaker studio 2 import sprite sheet

soooooooo overhwleming! But its great, because the potential for this thing just seems limitless. I've so far watched over 14 hours worth of videos, read countless articles on C# coding, along with the documentation for Unity. What's going on everyone? I'm new here, and trying to learn Unity so I can port my project over from gamemaker studio.








Gamemaker studio 2 import sprite sheet